Home About Us Events Sponsors Gallery Archive Oxford Bookstore Contact
Join our Mailing List
facebook twitter Sitemap
Bookmark and Share

Oxford Bookstore opens Entries for Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize 2022

25th October 2021, New Delhi: The Oxford Bookstore today announced the seventh edition of Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize with honoured jury members Dr. Shashi Tharoor, Shobhaa De, Kunal Basu, Priti Paul and Dr. Alka Pande.

Instituted in March 2015 by Oxford Bookstore, the Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize year after year has gained traction as the most prestigious award in the book cover design industry. It is a first of its kind award for brilliance in book design, an endeavour by the iconic bookstore to recognize and encourage the extraordinary work of illustrators, designers and publishers across India. The prize appreciates the importance of the balance of graphics and narrative, particularly in our increasingly visual age, believing that a book cover interprets and illustrates the ensuing text in crucial ways that contribute to its ultimate success.

The seventh edition jury for Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize comprises of prominent author, Indian columnist and novelist, Shobhaa De, well known Indian politician, writer and Member of Parliament, Shashi Tharoor, renowned author, Kunal Basu, Director, Apeejay Surrendra Group and the creative force behind Oxford Bookstores, Priti Paul and an author, academician and well know museum curator Dr. Alka Pande who has been a key pillar to the prize since its institution in 2015 and has served as a jury member till 2019. The jury members are all pre-eminent in their particular fields and share a love and commitment to books and reading. The varied interests of these eminent jurors will help create a rich and diverse perspective for the selection.

Under the guidance of Ms. Priti Paul, Director, Apeejay Surrendra Group, Oxford Bookstores has been pushing all boundaries to encourage the publishing industry and celebrate the business of books. Standout cover design is an integral part of the success of a book, designers and illustrators play a pivotal role in helping a book become emblematic and create recall.

Every year Oxford Bookstore announces the award's shortlist and winner at Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival and Jaipur BookMark of Jaipur Literature Festival respectively.

Covers of titles by designers of Indian origin and published between 1st April 2020 and 31st March 2021 are invited to apply for the seventh edition of Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize. Entries are welcome from 25th October 2021 till 24th November 2021.

To download nomination form, please click here.

In its first year, Bena Sareen was awarded the prize for the book, "Talking of Justice” by late author, Leila Seth, published by Aleph. The following year designer Pinaki De was declared winner for the book "Kalkatta" authored by Kunal Basu, published by Picador India. The third Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize was awarded to Maithili Doshi Aphale for the book "Himalaya" authored by Ruskin Bond and Namita Gokhale, published by Speaking Tiger. In the fourth year the prize was awarded to Bonita Vaz Shimray for the book "Remnants of a Separation" by Aanchal Malhotra published by HarperCollins. The fifth edition prize was handed over to Sneha Pamneja for "Tiffin", published by Roli Books. Graphic Designer Gunjan Ahlawat was awarded the prestigious award in the sixth edition for the book "Gun Island ” by Amitav Ghosh, published by Hamish Hamilton, an imprint of Penguin Random House.



Home | About Us | Schedule | Partners | Gallery | Archive
Oxford Bookstore | Contact | Press | Sitemap

www.oxfordbookstore.com | www.apeejaygroup.com

Conditions of web site use, copyright and disclaimer © 2020 oxfordbookstore.com, inc. and its affiliates.
Site best viewed 1024x762 resolution.